Uttar Pradesh captains Priyam Garg, Bhubaneswar and Raina in the team

Kanpur, 1 January (IANS) Young batsman Priyam Garg has been appointed as the captain of the Uttar Pradesh team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy tournament starting January 10. Suresh Raina and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have also got a place in the 15-man squad.

Announcing the team, the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) said that this team is for the first two matches.

Priyam was part of India’s Under-19 team that made it to the final of the World Cup. Priyam made his IPL debut with Sunrisers Hyderabad this year. However, he could not do much better. In 14 matches, he had scored 133 runs at an average of 14.77.

Bhuvneshwar also played in the IPL but he was injured after playing four matches. Raina retired from international cricket on 15 August. He did not even play in the IPL.

Akashdeep Nath captained the team last season. He replaced Raina.

Uttar Pradesh is placed in Group-A along with Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Railways and Tripura. The matches of this group will be played in Bengaluru.

Team: Priyam Garg (captain), Karn Sharma (vice-captain), Suresh Raina, Rinku Singh, Madhav Kaushik, Samarth Singh, Shubham Choubey, Dhruv Jorel (wicketkeeper), Aryan Juyal (wicketkeeper), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ankit Rajput, Mohsen Khan, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Shanu Saini.

Stand by: Akub Khan, Sameer Chaudhary, Mohit Jangra, Hardeep Singh, Abhishek Goswami, Nalin Mishra, Parunank Tyagi.



Source link


Add Comment